Board of Directors

The NNEPRA Board of Directors, appointed by the Governor of the State of Maine, is supported by the collective efforts of staff to develop the operating strategies, marketing programs, community relations, food service, and service planning activities for the Downeaster.

Building upon the success of the Downeaster, NNEPRA has established the following goals to expand and improve passenger rail service in Maine, throughout Northern New England, and beyond.

  • Reduce travel time between Boston and Portland.
  • Increase frequency of trips between Portland and Boston.
  • Pursue expansion of Downeaster service within Maine.
  • Secure dedicated, multi-state funding to sustain Downeaster operations.

Click here for NNEPRA's Strategic Initiatives.

Visit the Board Meetings page for a list of upcoming NNEPRA Board meetings

John Melrose, Chairman

Dana Connors, Vice Chairman

Ron McKinnon, Treasurer 

Brian Hobart, Director

Charles Large, Director



Bruce Van Note, Director

Commissioner, Maine Department of Transportation

        MaineDOT Alternates: Mary Ann Hayes

Steve Lyons, Director
Director, Maine Office of Tourism

        DECD Alternate: